Book Title – Quillography

I got the opportunity to work on a book cover after the author Destination Infinity saw my work on this blog. I have only seen book covers designed by Yulia.

I was super excited to work on it. How many times do you get the opportunity to work on a book cover and that too a quilled one. This was the first time I was designing for a book cover. I had to start from scratch. From coming up with a concept basis the story, to adhering to client requirements. It was super exciting! My entire dialogue with the author was on email, the briefing, the 1st design, the final design images…everything. And might I say, it went on very smoothly. This is an A3 sized design and took me around 30 hours to complete. Getting the shading right was extremely challenging…completely drained me out! But the final outcome was worth the effort.

So this is the final sketch of the title which was approved.

Image

The color scheme which we opted for this design was shades of purple.I wanted to give this a complete gradient feel which I guess I was successful with. So here are the pictures of the design.  The design is still being made, but my quilling is done 🙂 It was an exciting project for me. Did you like it? Will share the final design once it is ready. This is my 3rd entry for Pratvam Progs contest as well.

This is how the final cover looks like and you could buy the book from Amazon.in using this link.

The final book cover

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Prespective view

Close Up

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Aarthi Elumalai
    May 31, 2014 @ 12:52:27

    Wow.. tats an awesome design and an awesome oppourtunity too..
    Aarthi

    Reply

  2. agnishaghosh
    May 31, 2014 @ 16:29:39

    Thanks a lot Aathi 🙂

    Reply

  3. Destination Infinity
    Jun 03, 2014 @ 15:36:13

    Excellent work. Thank you so much for working so hard on this project 🙂

    I wish book covers were in landscape, instead of portrait. Many of your designs look very good in landscape. For marketing reasons, we may have selected the photo that shows just a part of your work, but it creates that ‘Wow’ effect which we were looking for. Thank you once again 🙂

    Destination Infinity

    Reply

Leave a comment