Think White

So, Adidas presented a challenge recently via its poster contest ‘Think White’ for their uber elegant Stan Smith shoes endorsed by the legendary tennis champ Stan Smith.

When I saw the ad for this contest, I knew I had to participate. However, the thought gave me jitters as I knew that my work will be competing with the best minds in the creative field. Just to give you a background, although I’m creatively inclined, I work as a Client servicing manager and am still learning the basics of AI and Photoshop hence I asked my friend cum colleague Unmesh to help me with the layout.

So this is my entry: Every sports shoe brand focuses on the strength and performance of the shoes and very less importance is given to its beauty in any communication. So when I came across the shoes, the only thought that came to my mind was, ‘Wow, this is so beautiful, so elegant’. And hence I decided to focus on the beauty aspect of the shoes. As the brief was ‘Think white’, I decided to have a unique take on it. I personified the shoes so as to say that, ‘shoes so beautiful that it inspires nature’. Since the shoes were launched in 1973, I added that bit to the communication as well. I showed a beautiful white quilled butterfly emerging from the shoes. This butterfly took me around 5-6 hours and was completed over-night. I added green tinge to it to show that it is inspired by the shoes.

The final poster:

Image

 

The sketch:

Image

 

The final design:

Final quilled design

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Close up of the work:

Image

 

Image

Image

I’m not sure whether I would win, but I was more than happy about participating in this challenge. I’m also putting this as my entry for the Pratvam Progs contest. Hope I win at least one 😉

Would be very happy to hear from you about my work. Do share your feedback 🙂

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. knbaria
    May 08, 2014 @ 09:54:52

    The poster luks awesome… Best of luck for both the contests

    Reply

  2. Soumya
    May 08, 2014 @ 10:47:19

    Lovely…I am a big fan of yours.
    Good luck for both the contests.
    Can you please suggest, which glue do you use while sticking it to the final page or base.

    Reply

  3. binocolor
    May 08, 2014 @ 17:57:09

    Reblogged this on Binocolor Bulletin and commented:
    Think White by Agnesha. Amazingly designed poster.

    Reply

  4. pendurthi sharmila
    May 31, 2014 @ 18:55:07

    nice

    Reply

Leave a Reply

